Presentation of Sorbonne Nouvelle University

for coming to Crossroads 2012!

Sorbonne Nouvelle University is a forty-year-old university, created just after the protest period of 1968 in the wake of the development of new social sciences and humanities. Situated in the heart of the Quartier Latin, it welcomes each year more than 17 000 students, including 5000 foreign students. It offers a large range of courses in four domains – Languages, Literature, Arts, Human and Social Sciences – that correspond to undergraduate/postgraduate programs and three main diplomas – Bachelor, Master and PhD. Quality courses enhance career projects in research, teaching, publishing, librarianship, theater, cinema, media callings, communication and journalism, cultural mediation, translation, European and international positions. With 670 researchers and professors, 650 administrative employees and librarians, Sorbonne Nouvelle University is one of the leading centers for innovative research and higher education in France.

Sorbonne Nouvelle University is a place of development for Cultural Studies. Researchers from various departments have been deeply inspired by well known references in CS and in French theory. Numerous departments support the conference Crossroads 2012: l’Institut de la Communication et des Médias, l’Institut d’Études Théâtrales, le Département de Littérature Générale et Comparée, le Département d’Études Germaniques, le Département du Monde Anglophone, le Département de Médiation Culturelle, le Département de Cinéma et Audiovisuel. Three major domains in Cultural Studies have developed in Sorbonne Nouvelle University: Medias, Postcolonial and Gender Studies.

Since its establishment in 2010, Sorbonne Nouvelle University, as a founding member, is part of Sorbonne Paris Cité.

The organization of this conference is also supported by a ring of universities in France, in Belgium and in Switzerland. Academics from prestigious institutions have agreed to help organize and to be part of the National Advisory Committee: CNRS, EHESS, Bristol University, Panthéon Sorbonne University, the American University of Paris, the University of Angers, the University of Bordeaux 2 – Victor Segalen, the University of Bruxelles (ULIB), the University of Geneva, the University of Lille 3 – Charles de Gaulle, the University of Louis Lumière – Lyon 2, the University of Michel de Montaigne – Bordeaux 3, the University of Nice – Sophia Antipolis, the University of Strasbourg, the University of Villetaneuse – Paris 13.